CONDITIONAL SENTENCES

Conditional Sentences are also known as Conditional Clauses or If Clauses. They are used to express that the action in the main clause (without if) can only take place if a certain condition (in the clause with if) is fulfilled. There are three types of Conditional Sentences.

A. Conditional Sentence Type 1

Conditional Sentences Type I refer to the future. An action in the future will only happen if a certain condition is fulfilled by that time. We don’t know for sure whether the condition actually will be fulfilled or not, but the conditions seems rather realistic – so we think it is likely to happen.

→ It is possible and also very likely that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Present, will-Future

Ex : 1. If I find her address, I’ll send her an invitation.

2. If I don’t see him this afternoon, I will phone him in the evening.

3. If you are careful with the eggs, you won’t break them.

B. Conditional Sentence Type 2

Conditional Sentences Type II refer to situations in the present. An action could happen if the present situation were different. I don’t really expect the situation to change, however. I just imagine „what would happen if …“

→ It is possible but very unlikely, that the condition will be fulfilled.

Form: if + Simple Past, Conditional I (= would + Infinitive)

Ex : 1. If I found her address, I would send her an invitation.

2. If I had a lot of money, I wouldn’t stay here.

3. If I had a lot of money, I would give some away to that charity.

C. Conditional Sentence Type 3

Conditional Sentences Type III refer to situations in the past. An action could have happened in the past if a certain condition had been fulfilled. Things were different then, however. We just imagine, what would have happened if the situation had been fulfilled.

→ It is impossible that the condition will be fulfilled because it refers to the past.

Form: if + Past Perfect, Conditional II (= would + have + Past Participle)

Ex : 1. If I had found her address, I would have sent her an invitation.

2. I wish I had a car: travelling by train is so slow!

3. I wish I didn’t have to go to that course: it’s so boring.

Complete each sentence below by giving the correct for of the verb in parentheses.

1. If the city ________ (expand) the parking lot space downtown, we would not have to park so far away from the movie theatre.

2. Whenever my roommate ________ (snore) loudly, I cannot sleep.

3. Children may be disappointed if they ________ (not receive) good grades.

4. If we ________ (not take) an exam on the conditional, we might not have learned it.

5. Maya ________ (not pass) her driving test unless she calms down.

6. If it ________ (be) winter, all these trees would be covered in snow.

7. Had it not rained, the farmers ________(lose) all of their crops.

8. If the airplane had not had a mechanical problem, we probably ________(arrive) in Winnipeg by now.

9. We ________(lie) on the beach in Mexico right now if we had been able to get our visas on time.

10. I ________ (try) to find more opportunities to write in English if I were you.

Answers

1. If the city expanded the parking lot space downtown, we would not have to park so far away from the movie theatre.

2. Whenever my roommate snores loudly, I cannot sleep.

3. Children may be disappointed if they do not receive good grades.

4. If we had not taken an exam on the conditional, we might not have learned it.

5. Maya will not pass her driving test unless she calms down.

6. If it were winter, all these trees would be covered in snow.

7. Had it not rained, the farmers would have lost all of their crops.

8. If the airplane had not had a mechanical problem, we probably would have arrived in Winnipeg by now.

9. We would be lying on the beach in Mexico right now if we had been able to get our visas on time.

10. I would try to find more opportunities to write in English if I were you.

Referensi :

  1. http://www.se-savigliano.unito.it/…/CONDITIONAL%20SENTENCES.pdf
  2. http://www.sdc.uwo.ca/writing/handouts/Conditional%20Sentence.pdf
  3. http://www.ego4u.com/en/cram-up/grammar/conditional-sentences
Published in: on April 10, 2010 at 6:08 am  Tinggalkan sebuah Komentar  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://tsubas.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/conditional-sentences/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Tinggalkan Balasan

